top of page

Local call for campaign to clean up beaches

​​

Let's start a grassroots campaign to encourage smokers to take their cigarettes butts to the trashcan.

Our beaches are sandy, but not meant to be a giant ashtray.

I swim as often as I can along our gorgeous coastline and always take a walk to pick up trash before I leave.

I am amazed at how many cigarette butts are on the beach and these are the ones I can see. How many of these non-biodegradable filters are below the surface. I do what I can but can't begin to pick up all the ones visible, there are so many. This submission is my attempt to reach out locally for ideas/venues to start an awareness to the simple fix of stopping the use of beach sand as ashtrays.

With No BUTTS about it, Our BEACHES are Beautiful!


bottom of page